Power Grid Corporation of India Ltd said in a BSE filing on September 26, 2026, that its board approved a POWERGRID fundraise of up to Rs 10,000 crore from State Bank of India. The approval covers an unsecured rupee term loan or line of credit, described in the disclosure as a bank facility.

The board considered and approved the borrowing proposal at its meeting held the same day. The stated amount of up to Rs 10,000 crore represents the ceiling covered by the board's decision; the disclosure does not state that the company has drawn down that amount.

The outcome identifies both the proposed funding route and the bank from which POWERGRID intends to raise the funds. It does not provide a breakdown between a term loan and a line of credit.

Unsecured borrowing from SBI

The approved facility is denominated in rupees and is unsecured, according to the filing. State Bank of India is the named lender for the proposed borrowing.

The supplied disclosure does not specify an interest rate, loan tenure, repayment schedule or drawdown timetable. It also does not identify the intended use of the proceeds or link the borrowing to any particular project.

These details limit the disclosed outcome to the board's approval of the amount, lender and borrowing structure. The filing reports approval to raise funds through the bank facility, without stating that a loan agreement has been executed or that disbursement has taken place.

Board meeting and exchange disclosure

The September 26 board meeting commenced at 12:15 p.m. and concluded at 1:30 p.m. POWERGRID communicated the outcome to BSE and the National Stock Exchange under Regulation 30 of the SEBI Listing Obligations and Disclosure Requirements Regulations, 2015, as amended.

The communication identifies the company's NSE symbol as POWERGRID and its BSE scrip code as 532898. Anjana Luthra, Company Secretary and Compliance Officer, signed the disclosure addressed to the listing departments of both exchanges.

Source: BSE corporate announcement.